diy solar

diy solar

DIY Attic Fan(s)

ggrant3

Okay, so I am very new to this but want to start diving into some solar projects.

I currently have a 110v attic fan. I saw a solar version at a local store and that got me thinking.

I've done some searching online and seen a few DIY versions made with car radiator fans. So I thought that would be a good start as my first project.

The existing 110v attic fan helps keep the attic temps a little lower, but I'm in South Florida and it gets hot in the attic. What I have though of doing was adding two 12v fans connected directly to a solar panel (no batteries). Most likely having one exhaust hot air outside through a gable (that I would be installing so sizes can easily be matched to the fan I choose). Then having a second fan on the other end of the attic just circulating air throughout the attic. Then maybe in the future, removing the 110v attic fan and replacing it with a 3rd 12v fan. The goal is to move much more hot air out of the attic compared to the existing 110v fan

That's about the limit of my research and concept. The questions I have are:

1. Are there any articles that could be recommended from people that have already done something like this?
  2. Some people have stated they put a fuse inline, how would I calculate the proper fuse size for this?
  3. If I bought a 75-100 watt panel, could I just tie all the fans to that one panel (all +'s tied together and all -'s tied together)? Or would I need some kind of splitter coming off of the panel? Or separate panels for each fan?
  4. How would I find out about adding a thermostat to this setup?
  5. In one of the videos I watched, it said something about adding fans for attic ventilation having a negative affect on your a/c? Has anyone heard about that? Since all of our a/c lines are run through the attic, I would assume the lower temperature environment would be better. Not sure how it could have a "negative" effect.