diy solar

diy solar

DIYOSI Power Section Design

Roswell Bob

Solar Enthusiast
Here is a drawing of power section. Tear it apart. Please supply input as I expect to start putting tracks down next week. I will complete the schematic and get it out tomorrow or Tuesday. Keep in mind that this inverter board will be used for HF design, but is fine for a LF desoign as well. If you have any LF iron but your inverter has turned to shit then you may want to discuss what you have and we will see what we can do.

Attachments

• INVERTER.pdf
    175.4 KB · Views: 25
Do you have any updates on this?

I'm no inverter expert, but I note that there's no protection, no sensing (current, voltage, temperature) or feedback, and nothing to handle reactive loads.

Hopefully you ascribe to the fail often, fail fast method of development, because there's a steep learning curve between where this circuit is and what professional inverters do.

Thanks of the shove Mr Stienman - this has been on my mind lately. Sorry that I have haven't been attentive to this project. SInce last post I have had a heart attack and a quad bypass. Also had a flood, a lightning strike and a car wreck. I hope to get back on it in October or November. Wife and I are getting ready for winter now. We're off the beaten path on a hilltop and winters here can be a bit difficult so today's priorities are what they are.

I have the power section 80-90% layed out. I have bus current sensing as well as bus voltage. The bus current sensor is shown on the schematic. I don't intend to do output leg current sensing. I had initially planned to use a differential amplifier for bus voltage sensing. I have gotten this past UL in the past, but not sure if they are still allowing. I also have a small arrangement of bus caps shown on the drawing to take care of reactive currents. I don't expect to see any large reactive loads. A small unloaded motor would probably be worse case.