diy solar

diy solar

Do I have the numbers correct?

withaview2

Hi! Solar newbie here.

In the early stages in planning and have only the batteries so far. The load (minimum in bold) will be about: 8 indoor and 4 outdoor LED lights. Fridge and freezer. Kitchen appliances. TV and DVD. Battery charging station. Wierless network. Garden water pump. Running electric tools. Fan. Heating cable. Microwave.

EVE 8x280Ah (Lifepo4) cells + 8S 150A JBD BMS.
(24V)
Nominal Voltage 3.2V
Max discharge Current 1C/280A
Max charge Voltage 3.65V

The array will likely be two panels in series with 750W max output.

Longi LR4-60HPH-375M
Nominal capacity 375 Wp
Imp 10.84 A
Vmp 34.6 V
Isc 11.6 A
Voc 41.1V
Temperature rating STC:
Isc +0.048%/C
Voc -0.270%/C
Pmax -0.35%/C
Calculated temperature min -20 Celcius.

The SCC I'm considering is.

MPPsolar (2424MSE1).
(24V)
2.4kv Inverter
105V max PV input.
25A max utility charging.

Do have the numbers on my side or do I need to rethink something, hopefully not everything?

Last edited:
I do not see any loads numbers. You mention several without giving watts, amps or measured daily watt-hr

I do not see any loads numbers. You mention several without giving watts, amps or measured daily watt-hr
It's because I haven't purchased all I need yet. Apart from a few kitchen appliances it's mostly low wattage output. Will be using two chest freezers, one as a refrigerator with thermostat to keep the draw to a minimum.

You don't think 2.4kw will be enough for the basic load?

I would greatly appreciate if someone could tell me if this battery/PV/SCC setup will work, and if the SCC is suitable to charge these cells?

Last edited:
Oh I am sure that your components will do close to what they are rated to do. (Exception is the solar panels you frequently have to expect around only 75% of rating or less based on location and other factors).