diy solar

diy solar

Do I need a DC-to-DC controller for vehicle to teardrop battery

NORTH53OVERLAND

Hi everyone, i'm new to this.

I know that a 7-pin harness will do some charging of my trailer battery. I have a semi-custom trailer being built but have asked that they leave the super basic battery out so I can add my own 12V system.

This is my idea;
- For now I will use a single 230ah 12V AGM battery (eventfully upgrade to Lithium)
- Xantrex Freedom XC 1000 to provide shore power charging to the battery and DC to AC pure sine wave inverter
- Renogy 40A MPPT solar charge controller
- 200w renogy suitcase style solar panel

My big question is, should I or do i need to have a DC to DC charger as well? If so why, if not, why not?

Cool, I have often wanted a teardrop trailer. Here are some comments:

- You only need 200W / 12V = 16.67A, 40A seems unnecessary.
- You only need a DC/DC charger if you want to charge your battery from your car alternator
- You might want a DC/DC regulator to power DC loads in your trailer, if any of them require a different voltage than the 12-14V that your battery provides. If the manufacturer builds it for 12V then probably everything runs on 12V (lights, fan, whatever else is on a teardrop trailer, etc?).

Last edited by a moderator:
Cool, I have often wanted a teardrop trailer. Here are some comments:

- You only need 200W / 12V = 16.67A, 40A seems unnecessary.
- You only need a DC/DC charger if you want to charge your battery from your car alternator
- You might want a DC/DC regulator to power DC loads in your trailer, if any of them require a different voltage than the 12-14V that your battery provides. If the manufacturer builds it for 12V then probably everything runs on 12V (lights, fan, whatever else is on a teardrop trailer, etc?).

Thank you Paul. I figured I would just go with overkill at once for the input for the solar controller in case I add more in the future.