diy solar

diy solar

Do North American electricians test impedance?

Nope .... not since the early day of LAN installations ..... and when I worked with communications equipment.

I've never seen one do it. I've seen them use a megger on electric motors and such, but resistance is mostly king.

I've never seen one do it. I've seen them use a megger on electric motors and such, but resistance is mostly king.
I think I may have mispoken.
Not sure whether the the electrician in the linked videos is testing resistance or impedance.
Honestly I don't grok the difference beyond a quick look at the Wikipedia entry.
For lighting circuits or a run of outlets I could see that testing resistance at the end of run could be worthwhile.

I am an electrician, and we don’t have looped circuits...
Our grounding/bonding is size determined by he NEC, I do have a meter that tests all individual impedance, I use it on odd problem calls.

I didn't watch any of those video's to see what he is doing ..... but, impedance testing is a thing. It can be really important for higher frequency situations.

Had an afterthought ..... sorry, still haven't gotten around to watching some of the videos.

I have seen people who use the terms impedance and resistance interchangeably ..... is it possible this is what he is doing?

I am not familiar with the meter he uses, but it appears he charges it up, and measures the charge remaining after he probes the circuit...

Are we talking about this tester as shown in his video (
@28:08 time stamp?)
KEWTECK KT63 PLUS

Last edited: