diy solar

diy solar

Down converting voltage

mynameismud

Hello everybody, noob here!

In process planning my system and finding myself in a bit of a dilemma.

I got a good deal for two mono 360W panels and purchased a 12v/24v 40a mppt thinking it would be suitable for a 24v battery bank in my workshop. Now, thanks to my ignorance, and impatience, I miscalculated the actual cost vs ah needed to store energy from the panels.

My idea was to use 8 x 3.2v 100ah lifepo4 in series/parallel somehow thinking, great, that would give me 400ah in 24v (above 300ah needed) in the system. Later on realizing my mistake the actual ah will be only half of what I planned, I thought (without blowing my budget) perhaps I should go for 12v instead?

Would down converting with the mppt to 12v be an energy efficient and cost effective solution to this, or is it simply wasting energy from the panels into thin air?

Appreciate any guidance here.

8 3.2V 100Ah cells is 2560Wh whether you put them in 8S for a 24V 100Ah battery or 2P4S for a 12V 200Ah battery. FYI - the only way you get a 400Ah battery from those cells is if you make a 6V battery (4P2S) which you certainly don't want to do.

You have 720W of solar. With a 12V battery you need a 60A SCC. With a 24V battery you only need a 30A SCC. Stick with 24V and your SCC will be fine.

Why do you think you need 300Ah or more?

Hello everybody, noob here!

In process planning my system and finding myself in a bit of a dilemma.

I got a good deal for two mono 360W panels and purchased a 12v/24v 40a mppt thinking it would be suitable for a 24v battery bank in my workshop. Now, thanks to my ignorance, and impatience, I miscalculated the actual cost vs ah needed to store energy from the panels.