diy solar

diy solar

Dyi battery to fronius hybrid inverter

Nostra

Hi, Im new in this and wonder if someone know if its possible to use a dyi battery pack to fronius hybrid inverters or is it only possible to use their recommended HVM, LG chem or Resu wall packs?

Hey, I am also interested in the same topic. Seems Fronius GEN24 has capability to connect to a pack and they recommend BYD, but info on what BYD pack does are very limited.

GT made hybrid like inverters use high Vdc battery packs (internally they connect it directly, like a PV string).
Some packs have an internal 48V and use a boost converter to make 3-800Vdc from it, some put a lot of cells in series.
Like BYD where a pack (102V) is two 48V pack in series.
So you can do the same. But do not forget you need a BMS for every 48V pack and a big one for the whole 4-6-8s 48V pack.
Or you can use a very expensive Batrium BMS.
So not impossible, but I do not recommend it. High Vdc is dangerous. Avoid it as much as you can.

MPP/Voltronic has real Hybrid where 48V battery can be connected. And not silly 3kW for protected load but 5-10-15-... 85 kW. And even can be paralleled so if one is not enough you put a 2nd next to it. And they generate power to the same phase.

Thanks. Not sure I understand everything since Im not experienced.
I could read this from the fronius web page that the BYD/ HVM has a nominal voltage of 51.2 V per module. These different voltages subsequently lead to different charging and discharging power. Would this allow me to use 16s to a 48V pack? If not putting it together myself, would the Gyll 48V work you think?

It could work but will not.
The main reason is that you need a BMS for the 48V packs like 2 x 48V or 4 x 48V (2s 96V or 4s 192V).
They are in series and you would need a very strong balancer to equalize them.
I never ever saw such a beast. There is a reason why high V packs are so expensive.