diy solar

diy solar

E-bike trailer quandry

JoySinger

I am trying to figure out if I can charge my electric bike trailer with solar while on a bike tour. I'm a complete beginner, and I think I might be getting more confused the more videos I watch. Anyways! I would greatly appreciate a bit of help. I have a little electric bike trailer called a Ridekick. I currently have a 24v 12amp SLA battery in there, and the range is not fantastic. The company I got it from used to offer LiFePO4 batteries with 20 amp($719) or 30 amp($945) options, but it looks like they are closing down their business. I'm wondering if anyone might have a suggestion of a good brand of battery that might work? I'm also hoping to tour, and was looking into the Sunpower flexible panels. I was trying to figure out if I might be able to charge with solar, and I got really stuck. I asked the Ridekick folks, and they said I would need a number of panels to make it work. The motor on the trailer is 500w, if that makes a difference. If I'm understanding the math correctly.....I would take the watt hours of the battery (288wh for the SLA, for example) and divide that by the watts of a 100 watt panel, and that would be my charge time? One 100 watt panel would, in a perfect world with 100% efficency, take 2.88 hours to charge?