diy solar

diy solar

Easiest Budget Setup for Van Conversion?

reecetas7196

Hello!

I am new to all this and am going to purchase a couple solar panels, used, by SunPower. The model is SPR-220-BLK-U. They are monocrystalline cells.

I wanted to know what would be the most budget friendly and efficient setup for these.

What kind of MPPT charge controller?

If I were to use 4 of these, https://offerup.com/item/detail/1247726770, for a 12v LifePo4 battery, what else would I need?

What size inverter? I think a 2000w should be fine?

Main things running off of it would be LED can lights, weboost, vent fan, charging for two laptops and iphones, maybe dometic fridge eventually.

Any help would be awesome!! Thanks!!

The size of the inverter is determined by the loads you plan to run.
I posit that you should design your system based on requirements.
When you design based on requirements the pv panels are near the last thing to consider.
How much momentary power do you need as measured in watts and how much power over time do you need as measured in watt hours?

See my signature for a link to a tool to help with your audit.

You understand a 2000w inverter can pull about 200 amps 12V? So if you use your full capacity your 200A pack may only be good for an hour.
And you're going to start out with building your own battery pack?
Looks like a good deal on the cells...but that's just the foundation of a big project with a steep learning curve. BTDT, right in the middle of it.

Those panels are grid-tie type as opposed to 12V mobile type. They'll work, but you'll need a charge controller that can accommodate them. Pretty high voltage on those - about twice that of 12V type.