diy solar

diy solar

EB150 + solar panel. A bit of help selecting the right panels please :)

vegas00

Hi Everyone,

I hope I'm posting in the right section (sorry if not).

I work from home and am looking to build a home office here in the UK. Nothing big just a small shed style with good insulation. For power I would like to have something portable to bring into the house at night (crime is an issue here) and ideally solar powered.

I've checked my office watt usage using a simple Maxcio meter (cheap off ebay but seems to do the job) and other than my initial surge of just under 1000w the stable usage is 170-210w.

As such, I've looked at portable power stations and the PowerOak EB150 (also called BLUETTI in america I think) seems to suit the job with 1500watt power with a solar input option. I can see it has been mentioned on this forum a few times so I won't go into the specs here etc.

The problem I am having is trying to work out what solar panels I can use. I'm new to solar and trying to learn as fast as possible!

The EB150 says:
1.How to choose compatible Solar panel?

1)Open Circuit Voltage(OCV):16-60V/Max.10A, Max.500W (DC7907 to MC4 Charging cable is included)

2)MC4 Connector

make sure the total OCV(open circuit voltage) is no more than 60V if you connect several solar panel in series!!!!!

Further down the page it says:

3. Can I connect the solar panel in series or in parallel?
yes, you can. for example, connect 2*DC18V(rated power)/150W solar panel in series, if the OCV(open circuit voltage is 22V), so connect 2 pcs in series, it is finally total 44V/300W.

They do seem to sell their own mobile solar panel (foldable) but I would prefer to get some proper panels and fix them to the roof as I feel it would be much cheaper (plus their foldable panel isn't water proof from what I can see).