diy solar

diy solar

EB240 / Condo emergency backup

acdcbon

Hello- Newbie here- thank you to anyone here who can answer my questions!

I have been scoping out the Bluetti EB240 to keep in my condo as an emergency backup for if the power goes out. Not for daily use, just for in case the power goes out for a long time. Backup travel/portable air conditioner or fan, and the full size refrigerator are my main focus to keep running in our household.

(refrigerator specs: Energystar 115VAC/60HZ, Amps 7.10, 403kWh estimated yearly electrical use, 3 prong)

I have 2 small balconies on opposites sides of my house with limited space for charging solar panels. I prefer to not have to use solar panels, and rather charge from the wall socket. I don’t want to really advertise to my neighbors that I have solar power in my home. Ultimately, I prefer to keep the battery charged from the wall socket.

My questions are-

Does the Eb240 arrive fully charged from the manufacturer?

Will charging the eb240 only to keep the battery power levels up in case of emergency use from a wall charger be costly on my energy bill?

And what is the least amount of portable (fold-up kind) of solar panels I can get away with using?

Can you charge up the eb240 battery with another eb240 or smaller unit? I may get 2 units, although, I may get a smaller capacity unit that would’ve easier to charge.

Hoping someone can clarify these for me. I am on the fence to purchase. I appreciate any reccomendations! Thanks so much!

Why dont you want your neighbors to know you have solar power?
Buy the AC200 which will run an air conditioner instead of the EB240
In an extended power outage not having enough panels will make your EB240 worthless.

Thanks for your reply!

Well eventually I would have to use the solar panels to charge up of course, but I don’t intend on having a big set up of solar panels on display on a regular basis if I can. Don’t like showing off preps in general, safety.