diy solar

diy solar

ecoflow delta solar plus 12v charging together?

jeromekeating

Hey am I about to make a big mistake? I have some basic electrical knowledge but I'm pretty new to solar and MPPT charge controllers etc.

My solar panels should arrive in a couple days, 2 PET panels x 200w each and it says they're 18V and I guess I'll connect them in series. I intend to use the built-in charge controller in the ecoflow delta.

I want to be able to charge my ecoflow delta off either solar OR 12V outlet in the truck but I didn't want to have to switch from one to the other.

So I made a little project box to combine the two inputs, with some diodes to prevent any current from the 12v outlet from feeding back into the solar panel, and to prevent any current from the 36V solar from feeding back into the truck's 12v outlet. I've tested this project box and it seems to work, I tried shorting one of the inputs while the other is connected to confirm that no voltage or current will flow the wrong way. I also added a couple ammeter/voltmeters so I can see what's happening.

So my understanding is that as long as the solar is outputting say 14 to 36 volts then no power will come from the truck's 12V outlet until the sun goes down and then the 12V outlet will charge the ecoflow.