diy solar

diy solar

EG4 600EX-48HV Inverter impact on Power-Line Communications (PLC)

SunFarmer

Hello Forum,

I’ve encountered a challenge as a result of building my new off-grid solar electric system. The EG4 6000EX-48HV inverter has some unexpected effect on Power-Line Communications (PLC).

First some background: I’ve been dabbling with home automation since the 1980’s. Initially I build a network using controllers and switches that communicate via the X10 PLC protocol. Power-Line Communications or PLC for short, is a technology where communication signals are super-imposed onto 60Hz AC power lines. This is useful for home automation where remote-controlled switches and outlets can be deployed without the need for additional control wiring.

The X10 protocol became obsolete and replaced by the much-improved Insteon PLC protocol. As my X10 devices aged-out, I replaced them with Insteon devices. Eventually my home automation network consisted of an ISY-994i controller and a bunch of Insteon switches, outlets and smart lightbulbs. It all worked pretty well. The ISY-994i controller would send ON/OFF commands out on the power lines, and the remote Insteon switches and outlets, if they were in a good mood, and there were no sunspots, would turn on or off as commanded. However, sometimes, for unknow reasons, the Insteon switches and outlets just would refuse to cooperate, wouldn’t turn on/off or provide status. When this happens, I make them take a time-out until whatever was interfering passes and things get back to normal.