diy solar

diy solar

EG4 LL Battery Discharging and Charging Slower Than The Rest

robby

Photon Vampire
I am pretty sure this is an Internal resistance issue but I find it really odd.
I have three Fortress eFlex 48V Batteries in Parallel with one EG4 LL Battery. I was doing some checks today and when the batteries are charging the eFlex's are all pulling in like 21 Amps but the EG4 is Pulling 12 Amps. After they all get up to 100% SOC the voltage reading on all four batteries is the same (Looking at them via PC software) all the cells are well matched and everything is fine but the EG4 took 30+ minutes longer to reach 100% SOC.

On discharging test I made the eFlexs produced 7.2 amps each while the EG4 only contributed 3.5amps to the common load.
I pulled out my Amp meter and confirmed what the software and display on the EG4 and eFlex was saying is correct.

I am by no means a battery expert so I am wondering if this could cause problems for my eFlex batteries over the long term and exactly why there is such a big mismatch in current draw when the voltages are the same.

Last edited:
OK @Dzl , @FilterGuy , @Hedges any help please. All the wires are the same length 4 AWG to the Busbar where they then connect to 2/0 AWG to the 250A Breaker and then Inverter.

Double check or clean and treat the EG4's battery and bus bar connections? Any warmth in wiring or connections?

Happen to have a pic that shows battery wiring?
Thanks for the reply
No heat that I felt but I have a thermal cam and will take a look at it tonight when they switch on to discharge.
I will double check the terminals in the morning.

My gut feel is that it might be a matter of different internal resistances of the 2 pack types.

Would like to see wiring though. A lot of eyes sometimes find something...