diy solar

diy solar

Electrical power generation for a given load

grimreaper111

I am going to make my own wind turbine, as there is some wind where I live 24/7, to run my 3 PC's and the fridge and freezer. The fridge and freezer are on 24/7 with a combined load of 0.21KW/Hrs. 1 PC will be on around 12 hrs./day at 0.45KW/Hrs. The other 2 PC's will be on on/off during the day at 0.43 KW/Hrs. If all of these were on at the same time the total load would be 1.09 KW/Hrs. for around 12 hrs. a day. Assuming that the wind turbine charges the battery pack to 100% overnight.

• How many watts would the wind turbine need to generate?
  • What size battery pack should I use, assuming I use lead-acid batteries?
  • I am a mechanical engineer, so this electric bit is new to me. Thank you in advance

Welcome to the forum!

You'll probably get the most accurate picture of daily energy usage by picking up a few "Kill-A-Watt" meters and plugging your devices into them for a few days if not a few weeks.

To figure out how much energy you need you it's a pretty simple formula.
Time x Power = Energy
24 x .21 = 5 kWh
12 x .45 = 5.4 kWh
? x .43 = ?

Take a stab at filling out the energy audit resource.

I am going to make my own wind turbine, as there is some wind where I live 24/7, to run my 3 PC's and the fridge and freezer. The fridge and freezer are on 24/7 with a combined load of 0.21KW/Hrs. 1 PC will be on around 12 hrs./day at 0.45KW/Hrs. The other 2 PC's will be on on/off during the day at 0.43 KW/Hrs. If all of these were on at the same time the total load would be 1.09 KW/Hrs. for around 12 hrs. a day. Assuming that the wind turbine charges the battery pack to 100% overnight.

• How many watts would the wind turbine need to generate?
  • What size battery pack should I use, assuming I use lead-acid batteries?
  • I am a mechanical engineer, so this electric bit is new to me. Thank you in advance
You consumption is close to 5kWH per day for the fridge