diy solar

diy solar

Enphase AC to hybrid system

amanra13

I installed 30 295 watt panels with 30 enphase IQ 6+ micros on my house back in 2017. I am an industrial electrician, and this was all new to me. It was fun to learn about and plan and install. I'm wondering the most economical way to safely setup a Hybrid Inverter of some kind that will create the frequency my IQ6's need to generate power, but also keep a small backup battery unit charged up. Is there a way to utilize the up to 60amps my panels are making during the day, in an emergency, to run AC and Fridges etc, but a sunset and power loss have the batteries provide enough for lighting and phone charging etc. I don't care to go off grid at this point. I just want a low cost option to create an emergency back up plan. I also have a 4500 watt generator I want to be able to run as needed tied into the system. I plan to make some kind of wall pack from 18650's or the like, and with my panels outputting 240v AC already, the battery wall pack can be set up at any voltage for charging/inverting whatever... I've watched many many videos, but could use input and advice into my idea, as I haven't really seen anyone doing this that already has Micros in the system. Thanks mates

You probably have heard about the new Enphase Ensemble system. There is a write up of one on here.

The Ensemble looks like a great system, and I had looked into it, but they kept delaying the announcements. I finally gave up and decided to do my own thing. It sounds like you are more of a "roll your own" kind of guy as well, so take a look at my thread in the "Show and Tell section"