diy solar

diy solar

Entire structure of small ground mount array needs to be UL listed? WTF?

fastline

In short, I was talking with a local PV installer that indicated an entire ground mount structure for any array must be UL listed. We are in the engineering business and fully competent to design and construct a structural rated mount, but I fail to see why UL would need to be required? This was a pro installer so I am hoping he was just trying to sell more equipment because our county has no special provisions on the books and refers right back to NEC 2020 code. If I can show a clear ground path for everything, I fail to see reason in UL? Anyone else run into mount drama in their area? It frustrates me to see people getting to build stuff out of 2x4s and go make power, but I am not free to even think about solar.

I have been investigating/designing a DIY grid tie system for several months. I am a retired elec engineer and have had multiple discussions with the EE at my utility and also with my favorite electrician re code requirements. The utility requires UL and CE listing for the devices but no mention of UL for the structure has ever come up and UL is not in the business of certifying structures anyway. Sounds like bullsh!t. I do need a construction permit for the arrays but that is mostly just a revenue generator for the local county. Note my location is rural so someone in a municipality might have other hurdles to deal with.

Sounds like a money extraction scheme to me. You'll need to pay a just bit extra to get the UL certification?

This reminds me of years ago when I went into my county's code office with my cabin blueprints that I was going to be constructing in the local mountains. Their reaction was "why are you bothering us with this?". A professional builder happened to be standing behind me and pulled me aside to explain that in my county as long it was not a commercial structure for rent or business, I could do whatever I wanted.