diy solar

diy solar

Extending battery life by periodically limiting SOC

berksrunner

Hi Folks, I have a self-converted promaster van which has 900W of PV on the roof and 6.2 kwh (24v) of diy lifepo4 storage. The van goes through periods of non-use, and during those times, it makes no sense to rev the SOC to 95%+, particularly in hot weather; it does nothing but significantly shorten the overall cycle life. What I'd like to do is effectively limit the max SOC to somewhere around 70% when the van is not in use, and I'm trying to figure out the best way to do it (and it'd be nice if it was a way that could easily be disengaged when it comes time to use the van and then re-engaged once the van goes back into storage).

Here's a description of what I've got available to work with:
Smartsolar 150/70
BMV 702
Overkill Solar BMS (3x)

I've considered the relays built into both the BMV and the mppt, but I'm not sure exactly how to use them. I could also manually set a lower voltage (maybe around 26.3) on the mppt, or I could do something similar to the BMS's (but I'd need to do it 3 times since I have multiple).

Any thoughts? TIA!!

During periods of non-use, it makes sense to keep the batteries stored at 50% and to not charge them at all.

Best way to do it would be to turn off the "charger enabled" in the battery settings in the Victron Connect app and turn it back on a day before planned use - one simple toggle in your phone app.

Simply reprogramming the absorption and float voltage to a lower level will ensure the LFP battery is at a lower SoC. You might consider even making the change permanent as a lower peak SoC will improve cycle life as well. You will have to experiment with what peak voltage produces the best results for you.

During periods of non-use, it makes sense to keep the batteries stored at 50% and to not charge them at all.