diy solar

diy solar

First Build #Budget/Craigslist - Compatibly Questions

Justic

Hi, So I'm making a budget setup with what I have already (the two batteries below) and what can be sourced from craigslist deals (325w Solar Panel for $100) and amazon. I have come up with the following build for around $300

Craigslist Solar Panel $100 - CANADIAN SOLAR TYPE: CS6U-325P
Craigslist Batteries $30 - Two Diehard Advanced Gold AGM 20Hr 92AH
Amazon PWM Charge Controller $30 - Renogy Wanderer Li 30A 12V PWM Negative Ground Charge Controller
Amazon Inverter $85 - KRIËGER 1100 Watt 12V Power Inverter Dual 110V AC Outlets
Amazon Solar Panel to Controller Cable $20 - Renogy 10Ft 10 AWG
Amazon Controller to Battery Cable $13 - RENOGY 8ft. 10 AWG Wire

I'm wondering if I'm missing anything and if the solar panel listed will work with the Charge Controller I have listed. I plan on either using one battery or putting the two in parallel. This is my first build and is only going to be used for charging my power tools batteries/cell phone/and a few LED light builds. I may use it for other low power fun stuff but this is mostly just to get my hands dirty and build something simple and under budget.

Side Question - Also I bought these two batteries for $30 the guy sold them to me at core cost. He pulled them from his working van and had them a few years, just doing some preventive maintenance. I got them home and got a 12v reading from them and hooked each one up to my auto trickle charger. Is there any test I can do to see how much life I could expect from these?

Last edited:
if the solar panel listed will work with the Charge Controller I have listed.

Swap out that PWM charge controller for an MPPT!

1) That PWM has a max input voltage of 25V. Your panel Voc is WAY above that so you'd smoke the controller.