first charge LiFePo SOK 12v

e67

New Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2022
Messages
48
Most newer lipos ship at 30 %,no? If you get one but don't have a stand alone lithium capable charger can you just let the solar panels do the first
charge before you adjust the battery monitor...? cheers..
 

sunshine_eggo

Happy Breffast!
Joined
Oct 26, 2021
Messages
5,764
Location
HBR, USA (6500' in ENE AZ)
Any suitable charger will do. Never charge without BMS protection.

You plan to top balance?

 

e67

New Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2022
Messages
48
I have 1 SOK 100ah. Its at 11.5v Can I use my Noco genius 3500 on the slow .9 amp setting 12v to charge it the first time?It doesn't have a lithium specific setting.
If so then what voltage should I unplug it? It will be solar charged from then on...
 

sunshine_eggo

Happy Breffast!
Joined
Oct 26, 2021
Messages
5,764
Location
HBR, USA (6500' in ENE AZ)
Ah... battery, not DIY. yeah. Knock yourself out. Any 12V charger is better than none. The battery will protect itself if needed.

If it gets to 14.4V measured at the battery terminals with a voltmeter for 30 minutes, you're charged.
 

robstrom

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 9, 2019
Messages
168
What are you trying to accomplish, with a 2 amp charger on 100 Ah battery???
I have the Noco 26000 (26 amp) for my SOK 206.
Go bigger, if you can still return it
 

e67

New Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2022
Messages
48
I canceled that one also. I will just use the Noco 3500 to 14v and then go solar. The SOK doesn't have the bulk and float specs on the sticker...?THey only say charged is 14.6v.
do you know what bulk and float specs are for the 12v 100 ah....? I am using a Midnite Solar KID controller ....
 

e67

New Member
Joined
Jul 7, 2022
Messages
48
I got the SOK 12v at 11.5 volts when delivered. I put it on the Noco at 1 amp but only till it got to 13.3v. Now I have it on the solar and its staying in float at about 10 amps charging and 13.8 volts so far. Per signature solar tech support I set the bulk rate at 14.7/float13.8... but should I put a time value in there also like 10 minutes or something?That would hold it at 14.7 for 10 min.,no? Right now its 0 minutes. Maybe that's why it is in float continually?
 
Last edited:
Top