diy solar

diy solar

First Post! Batrium Watchmon Plus OR Tenergy 5-in-1 Battery Meter

lance

First of all: I've very little but, not zero, knowledge of things electrical. I'm in the early stages of designing my Sprinter build and am working on the electrical designs now; initially just trying to get a list of all needed components. I feel I've got a pretty good handle on that so far using Will's videos and also The Mortons. The Mortons reference these two BMS units but, the Watchmon Plus is not available at the time his video was made. It is available now for about $800.... The Tenergy unit is about $15. SO: I'm willing to spend money to do this right and well but, I wanted to see if anyone with more knowledge had a sense for the advantages gained by spending for the Watchmon. My sense of it is that the Tenergy essentially does the same thing but, has to be done manually, and it takes much longer to balance the cells. The advantage of the Watchmon is that the battery's health is better maintained with continuous balancing and that the Watchmon is capable of doing it much faster. Do I have this approximately right? Does anyone have any input they're willing to share? Thank you! Oh... the system I'm aiming for is 24v with a single Tesla 5.2kw battery, solar charging and probably shore power but, not alternator charging.

Welcome to the forum.

One is a BMS that protects the cells from damage. The other lets you watch it happen.

There are dozens of options with price points in between. How much current do you need?

If you are looking at Batrium- check out the leafmon. I believe that unit is designed for leaf batteries and Tesla batteries.

I choose the Batrium watchmon4 + expansion board. I will be getting 8 of the listen 271ah cells (when my boat comes in). Set up as a single 2p4s 12v battery.