diy solar

diy solar

First solar setup advice

Nathannz

Hi everyone, newbie here.
Building a rv system, attached is a basic layout of my proposed system.

Main parts:
Series battery connection 2x 6v 200ah sealed
Series pv 2x 250w 8.32a
60a Mppt controller
Using 3 breakers at applicable amps
800w sine wave inverter
Circuit lengths all will be under 4m

My questions are:

1. The charge controller has a "dc load" output
Can i leave this be and just run load directly from positive poll on my bank. I assume its for individual load monitoring?

2. For dc appliances. Lights,fridge etc.. what is the proper way of circuit routing.
A common ground back to battery earth ? Or individual negitive wires from each appliance.

3. Is it proper practice to ground to the vehicle chassis at any point?

4. What size breaker do i select for between positive poll and fuse box for dc load?

I appreciate any feedback on my schematic or any answers to my questions.
Thanks,
Nathan

Picture of my system: https://ibb.co/Y2HKr97

Last edited:
1. Yes you can leave it be, you don't need to use that load port.
2. Common grounding is fine, unless you run into any noise issues.
3. You can ground anywhere really, in my opinion, more grounds better than not enough grounds.
4. Depends on wire gauge (and max load calculation, which drives decision on wire gauge)... It starts by deciding what 'amps service' the fuse box will provide as a whole to meet the sum of all it's individual fuse loads.

Last edited:
4. Depends on wire gauge (and max load calculation, which drives decision on max gauge)... It starts by deciding what 'amps service' the fuse box will provide as a whole to meet the sum of all it's individual fuse loads.
Hi Samsonite, thanks for reply. does wire gauge factor into breaker size? For example my maximum total amps would be 16A so a 20a dc breaker would be sufficient?
I plan on using 8 awg to fuse box and 14awg to each appliance. With runs all under 2m.