diy solar

diy solar

First solar system on RV. Need recommended charging voltages for Victron MPPT controller.

busterbrown

This is my first attempt ever at solar so I'm learning as I go.

I've recently installed two 100 watt polycrystalline panels on the roof of my RV. I have a relatively new bank of AGM deep cycle 12 Volt batteries from Weize (three 100 amp hour group 31's)

I purchased and use a Victron 712 battery monitor (which works great). I decided to buy a Victron Bluesolar 100/20 amp solar charge controller to harness the panel voltage. The problem I'm faced with is the recommended settings on that controller for my battery type and brand. I'm reading conflicting advice online. Weize has this stickered on each battery:

Cycle use: 14.5 - 14.9V
Stand-by use: 13.5 - 13.8V

I've read that AGMs should be limited to 14.4V during cycle use (I'm assuming this is another name for asorbsion??) and 13.2V for Stand-by use (another name for float charge??)

I've also read that undercharging weakens AGMs more than overcharging. Not sure if this a truly accepted statement.

I'm looking for ideal charging parameters for the longest life of these batteries. In addition, I did purchase the temperature sensor for the Victron SCC.

Any help with these controller settings is much appreciated.Screenshot_20200630-001348_Chrome.jpg20200628_183947.jpg

Most of the AGMs on the market are not designed for regular equalisation charging so they have to be bought up to full charge, ie all cells fully charged, during absorption charging. If you don't use a high enough absorption stage voltage this won't happen and you'll drop capacity as the cells wander away from each other's SOC. You should pick a voltage within the range recommended by your battery manufacturer.