diy solar

diy solar

First Time Solar Set Up

Buckeye89

I am new to solar and building a system that includes 2 - 200watt solar panels that I will put on the top of my RV. Also have a 2000watt pure sine inverter, 40amp charge controller with battery disconnect and 50 amp fuse where I can shut power off to charge controller. I have 200amp fuse from battery and will have shunt off the negative terminal of one of two - 100amp Battle Born lithium batteries to help monitor system. I am also adding a 50amp fuse that goes to the solar panels where I can shut off any power coming from the panels. There is also a 30amp in line fuse connected to the panels on top.

Looking for comments on if this looks like a good set up. I don't want to burn anything up. :)

Attachments

• Solar 2022.jpg
    Solar 2022.jpg
    98.8 KB · Views: 15
Are you running the batteries in parallel for 12 volts or in series for 24 volts?
Same question for the solar panels,, 2 in parallel or 2 in series?

If you don’t leave the inverter on for too long this could work. The idle draw of an inverter like that is around 12 - 25 watts an hour That is anywhere from 300 - 600 watt hours left on all day idle draw.

400 watt of panels may produce 800 - 2000 watt hours a day. Less likely if these are flat on the RV.

This may not leave a lot of power to use on the inverter. If you figure out your power requirements and this works with a good power audit to include your DC useage, then it may work.

When I had 12 volts and a 2000 watt inverter, I used 4/0 wire To the batteries and inverter. ANL fuses may not support a AIC required buy a lithium battery. The pictured DC switch if it is the one I have is not UL listed, and the amp rating is a bit tricky. The ”rated amps” is for a12 volt system. Reading the small print, the amperage is half that for 24 volts and half that for 48 volts. The busbar also looks like a 250 amp busbar that is made for audio builds, not necessarily solar builds.