diy solar

diy solar

Food Grade Drum For Hot Water Storage

toadshade

I am starting my research on building a solar water heater. My main question for now is the water storage container. I am a welder and appreciate steel or especially stainless steel but no matter how much I know how to build a stainless vessel, it is still extremely expensive. As of now my system will be an indirect (closed loop) glycol system heating the supply tank with a three way bypass with a tankless water heater in high demand situations. I plan on regulating the tank to 150 degrees F for now (adding more storage in the future if I am heating water that efficiently). So given those temperatures, I see no reason not to use a food grade polyethylene barrel for my storage container. The water will not be consumed so it is not a safety concern. A shower would be the only real contact and I do not, nor have I ever, drank my shower water ?. I will have a copper or stainless coil on the roof and I was thinking a PEX coil inside the container. And I will spray foam the container. As long as I can keep the storage container sealed, then I do not see any reason why I cannot use the food grade drum over a very very expensive stainless drum. I searched the forum for a little while assuming I could not be the first person to bring this up, but I could not find any discussion on this topic.

how about a old hot water tank find one that somebody upgraded to a more efficient tank and was still good or the electric side is toast

Reactions: DPC
I briefly thought about that but I would rather not use one for a number of reasons. But one of the main reasons is the awkward size in my limited space. But regardless, it would eventually need to be replaced now and then. The plastic is durable, easy to work with, and very easy and cheap to replace.