diy solar

diy solar

Free standing panels to inside MPPT controller

MalibuDave42

I'm a newbie looking some help... Here's my "current" plan - start with two 100w panels, then maybe add another 200w - Both sets would be portable\free standing. As I understand the math (which I may not :) )
  • Maximum Power: 100W
  • Open-Circuit Voltage (Voc): 21.6V
  • Short-Circuit Current (Isc): 6.5A
  • Optimum Operating Voltage (Vmp): 18.0V
  • Optimum Operating Current (Imp): 5.56A
  • Operating Temperature: 104℉-176℉
  • Maximum System Voltage: 600VDC UL
  • Maximum Series Fuse Rating: 15A
The bolded numbers above are the ones I need to pay attention to. So, 2 panels 43.2v @ 6.5a, when I add another set of panels 43.2v @ 13a. Correct?

For flexibility of panel placement: 1 40ft 10ga 2-wire cord with MC4 connectors; when\if the 2nd set of panels add a 2-1 MC4 connector to connect the set of panels together and connect to the 40ft line. Seem reasonable?

Inside my front bay, I am thinking to use a Victron Energy SmartSolar MPPT 100V 30 amp. Is that overkill? Or something smaller - Victron Energy SmartSolar MPPT 75V 15 amp? (note: If someday I decided to add permanent panels to my roof, I will add another controller.)

I would like to connect the "from PV" wires to an external plug mounted through my front bay wall. What plug should I use? I've seen one of these on a "factory" install SAE Power Socket Sidewall Port 12AWG but it does not seem like it can handle the current. Or maybe something like: Powerwerx PanelPole1-White, Panel Mount Housing. What are your thoughts?

WRT fuses: 1 50amp from the charge controller to battery. Do I need one just inside of the external plug heading to the charge controller?

Any and all input is greatly appreciated.

I'm a newbie looking some help... Here's my "current" plan - start with two 100w panels, then maybe add another 200w - Both sets would be portable\free standing. As I understand the math (which I may not :) )