diy solar

diy solar

Gas generator to backup solar

kdwhite67

Hi, I am new to solar and I am installing a system into my tiny home that consists of two 100 watt rich solar panels, 40 amp mppt controller and two 125ah v max 12 volt batteries. I live in Minnesota and anticipate consecutive cloudy days in the winter months. I'm looking for advice on how I can integrate a 1000 watt honda generator I already own into the system when I need to supplement. I would appreciate recommendations.

Thanks Bob! 12v with a 1000w Renogy inverter. Those are the batteries. I’m not a Gopher. I do watch gopher sports especially hockey!

Looks like those batteries will take about 35a each for charging. So if you are charging them both at the same time that puts you very close to 1kW. That is a good match for your generator. You like to minimize the runtime of generator and keep it near full load for best efficiency. One thing to consider is the current waveform that you will be pulling off of the generator. The generator would like to see a high power factor. In other words, it would like to see the current to the charger in phase and close to a sinewave. I'm sure others here know more about the chargers than I do. I don't expect your inverter can charge 70amps so you probably want an outboard charger anyway. I would look at what the battery manufacturer sells for charger. If the current is nice then it may be what you want. Make sure the chargers can be paralleled if you want to get to 70A. Wife and I are Badgers and had season Hockey tickets. Always enjoyed hosting the Gophers.