diy solar

diy solar

Goal Zero Yeti 1000 and backup Lithium Batteries

seefree

Hello All,

I am very new to all this but have just purchased a Goal Zero Yeti 1000 as a small emergency backup for my home. Goal Zero sells a Link module and backup lead acid batteries to extend the storage capacity of their Yeti line. My question is: Instead of using lead acid batteries as a backup can I use Battleborn Lithium batteries to increase the storage capacity of my Yeti 1000?

Welcome to the forum! That question came up late last year here. I checked and GZ said they don't support that. Here's the info from my email exchange:

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Sent: Thursday, November 7, 2019 9:03 AM
To: Goal Zero Support <support@goalzero.com>
Subject: Use 12V LiFePO4 batteries with Yeti Link expansion module?

Good morning,

<snip> Is it possible to use a 12V LiFePO4 battery instead of a lead-acid AGM battery to expand the run-time of a Yeti 1000, 1400, or 3000 via the Yeti Link expansion module? For example, if I had one of the following batteries, could I swap them out for the AGM in a Yeti Tank?
If that is not possible today, does Goal Zero plan to offer any support for 12V LiFePO4 batteries in the future?
I appreciate any information you can provide on this.

Thank you,

Bob

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Goal Zero Support <support@goalzero.com> Fri, Nov 8, 2019 at 2:11 PM
To: Bob

Howdy Bob,

Currently our Yeti Link modules will only support lead-acid batteries, however our engineers are developing a way to make our systems able to chain to Lithium chemistry batteries as well. We should have that ability available Summer 2020 at the earliest.

Let me know if you have any further questions.
Cheers!

<name removed>
Solution Center Representative