diy solar

diy solar

Golf Cart FLA to LFP Conversion, BMS Help Request

Highhorse

Thanks for looking:

I am a hobbyist with extensive high-amperage/high-voltage LiPo experience, so I understand the basics of the various lithium chemistries and the care/feeding thereof. Am in the process of selecting components for a 100ah 16S LFP conversion for my golf cart, the FLA batteries of which are on their last legs.

The sketchy data I’ve found thus far suggests that the cart currently draws somewhere upwards of 250A on acceleration (much less at steady speeds) and it is possible that future upgrades will push that substantially higher.

I can’t seem to find an LFP BMS with high and low temp cutoffs that also handles upwards of 400-500A. I have no qualms using a lower amperage BMS and wiring the load through a relay, but am unsure of the wiring. Has anyone here done this, and if so would you kindly share a diagram?

Alternatively, is anyone here familiar with a video or other reference which would enlighten me?

Many thanks,
Don

Thanks for looking:

I am a hobbyist with extensive high-amperage/high-voltage LiPo experience, so I understand the basics of the various lithium chemistries and the care/feeding thereof. Am in the process of selecting components for a 100ah 16S LFP conversion for my golf cart, the FLA batteries of which are on their last legs.

The sketchy data I’ve found thus far suggests that the cart currently draws somewhere upwards of 250A on acceleration (much less at steady speeds) and it is possible that future upgrades will push that substantially higher.

I can’t seem to find an LFP BMS with high and low temp cutoffs that also handles upwards of 400-500A. I have no qualms using a lower amperage BMS and wiring the load through a relay, but am unsure of the wiring. Has anyone here done this, and if so would you kindly share a diagram?

Alternatively, is anyone here familiar with a video or other reference which would enlighten me?

Many thanks,
Don
Don,