diy solar

diy solar

green with questions

firehallsolar

hey everyone! just picked 10 canadiansolar CS6P-235M panels in a barn find so im brand new to the solar thing. i want to do off grid battery bank for the shop. i am a little confused with the volt out power and battery volt needed. so the Pmax 235w, Vpm 29.8v, Imp 7.90a, Voc 36.9v, Isc 8.46. so what volt batter i can use? 36v? so hopefully i can have the panels up in the next week or so while parts are coming in

Typical system voltages are 12, 24 and 48 volts.
With your panels in parallel you can easily do 12 and 24.
If you add a serial component to your panel configuration you can do 48 volts as well.

What are you wanting to provide power to? Lights? Power tools? Welders?

hey everyone! just picked 10 canadiansolar CS6P-235M panels in a barn find so im brand new to the solar thing. i want to do off grid battery bank for the shop. i am a little confused with the volt out power and battery volt needed. so the Pmax 235w, Vpm 29.8v, Imp 7.90a, Voc 36.9v, Isc 8.46. so what volt batter i can use? 36v? so hopefully i can have the panels up in the next week or so while parts are coming in
10 panels x 235 watts is 2,350 watts.
2350 at 12 volts is 196 amps
2350 at 24 volts is 98 amps
2350 at 48 volts is 49 amp

How many feet from the panels to the SCC and batteries?

Your choice of battery voltage and chemistry will decide what size charge controller and how the panels are connected in series and parallel.
5 panels in series at 37 volts open circuit is 185 volts total then parrallel connect the other 5 panels in series
2 panels in series at 37 volts open circuit is 64 volts total
3 panels in series at 37 volts open circuit is 111 volts total with one panel left over.

What loads are you running in your shop?

lighting, tv, laptop, music, charging cordless tools.
That's a lot of panels for those small loads.
You dont need 2350 watts panels which will require a large SCC and big battery.