diy solar

diy solar

Greetings from Mexico!, looking for support on my off grid setup

Xfsec

Hey everyone glad to be part of this forum now

So a little bit of background, the need for a solar power system comes from my grandparents whose place is quite literally in the middle of nowhere, they have access to the grid but due to the distance of the wiring to the nearest town it's very unreliable, dangerous (due to constant lighting) and it can barely power anything with a motor

I started my project years ago with super basic stuff and it has been slowly growing as cash becomes available for better gear to something I can be moderately proud of, but regardless I still consider myself a novice since I have no professional background and I still have a lot to learn but solar energy has been one of my big interests.

My current setup is based on a Growatt SPF 3000TL LVM-48P hybrid inverter with 16 x 105Ah LFP4 cells and a total of 900W of solar panels

In fact I installed the growatt a couple days ago replacing a chinese hybrid inverter whose MPPT charger died due to a thunderstorm, but I been getting some really odd behavior from the new one that is making me think going for Growatt might not have been the best idea ever... (keep in mind that I have already contacted growatt support but they seem awfully slow to respond, at least the local one is)

1- The inverter doesn't seem to care for the charge limits

This one is related to a post by debron55, in summary if the battery is set to 'USE2' which is the recommended in the manual for lithium batteries without BMS communication the charger will completely shut off after the set limit and waste potential solar energy that could power the loads when the batteries are full