diy solar

diy solar

grid tied systems useless when grid is down per NEC?

MTM98290

I am fairly new to solar and have no experience with grid tied systems. We have an off grid cabin that we have successfully implemented a full off grid setup so I understand the basics.

I am now looking to set up a backup system at our full time residence so that if the power goes out we don't have to immediately start a generator to keep a few lights and pellet stove powered up.

This prompted me to start wondering about "grid tie" and what it really means. I am assuming that it means back feeding the grid with excess AC created by a grid tied array. Other than potentially paying less for electricity bills I do not understand this logic.

If I for instance set up an array, an AIO, and a battery bank I can hook up the grid to the AC input of my simple AIO off grid unit. I now have a system that is able to draw from the grid when needed and available.

With this simple system I can have power at all times. I will never be able to get paid a dollar per day or whatever for my excess electricity but it will function when I need it.

The way I understand it, If we had a grid tied system we would have nothing when redundancy was most important.

So is grid tied really only for generating money/credits toward utility bills? Is there really no way to separate from the grid that is not safe for the utility workers etc? Why is a transfer switch adequate for a generator but not a solar backup system? What am I missing here?

This prompted me to start wondering about "grid tie" and what it really means. I am assuming that it means back feeding the grid with excess AC created by a grid tied array. Other than potentially paying less for electricity bills I do not understand this logic.

Yep.