diy solar

diy solar

Ground mount for 24 panels 41 x 83

ToBeSolar

Newbie here, I have decided to build my own ground mount with all 1 1/2" x 3/16" square tubing. The panels weigh 52Lbs each, I have figured out how to build the main support with the tubing running latitude and with tubes running longitude, using concrete in ground. Would any of you think this would be strong enough? I live 15 miles north of the Mississippi Gulf Coast where Hurricanes are a part life.

Newbie here, I have decided to build my own ground mount with all 1 1/2" x 3/16" square tubing. The panels weigh 52Lbs each, I have figured out how to build the main support with the tubing running latitude and with tubes running longitude, using concrete in ground. Would any of you think this would be strong enough? I live 15 miles north of the Mississippi Gulf Coast where Hurricanes are a part life.
Can you draw something showing how it will go together? How tall it is, is a big factor on the way it acts in the wind.

Yes I do. Why do you ask?
Because permitting is likely going to require an engineering stamp if you design it yourself. That's why I would be asking you if it's going to be permitted. Your questions about materials and cement are pretty much going to be nailed down by what the engineer deems sufficient to withstand the wind category for your county. I live in WA and my county tells me exactly the windspeed the design must withstand. Cheers

As @Munchie33 said, it is wind category, which is more about uplift than the weight of the panels. It may require more concrete, thicker posts and more diagonal bracing. There is a tradeoff between thicker posts or more posts. Manufacturers like Ironridge and others offer stamped plans using their products.

Last edited:
Can you draw something showing how it will go together? How tall it is, is a big factor on the way it acts in the wind.