diy solar

diy solar

Ground mount helical pile specifications

unhandled

I’m looking at helical piles for a ground mount installation in Canada and I’m a newbie to solar installs to start with.

I had a poor experience with sonotube install for my fence, probably a poor job from the installer.

The helical pile manufacturer asked for for the specs as to what would be necessary but I’m not sure how to figure that out. I can probably figure out compression specs by calculating panel + racking weight. For the rest, not sure.

I was thinking of having 2 separate sections of 3x4 panels in landscape maybe 3’-4’ feet off the ground to clear snow accumulation while also to minimizing wind effects.

Has anyone went through a similar install and could provide guidance?

Thanks!

The helical pile manufacturer asked for for the specs as to what would be necessary but I’m not sure how to figure that out. I can probably figure out compression specs by calculating panel + racking weight. For the rest, not sure.
You have lift, shear and vertical loads on the piers. Lot more going on there then one might think.

In a perfect world you'd get an civil/structural engineer to calculate and design the appropriate anchoring. They will need a soils (geotech) report to do that.

Are you going to have pull a permit for this project?

Last edited:
You can get helical piles from a lot of solar places, I got my ground screws from Sunmodo, they have helicals too. Ironridge carries ground screws, not sure about helical piles. Buy from some place that will give you the engineering drawings with the equipment, you won't have to get involved in doing any calculations.