Growatt 3000/24 issues

syclonedriver

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
May 16, 2021
Messages
75
I've had my Growatt running for about 2 months now. It's been a real trooper, until a week ago. I have it connected to a little over 2100 watts of panels and 400ah of AGM batteries with 2awg cable. It runs 2 refrigerators, deep freeze and the blower on one of my central air units. When everything is running the AC load is about 8 amps.

I week ago I came home and found everything off and the growatt beeping and displaying an error code 56. I reset everything and it worked fine until it transfered from the commercial power to the inverter, then it failed again. After a little research and some testing it seems that the Growatt fails only if it tries to draw power from the batteries.

I load tested the batteries individually and then removed the cables from the unit. I connected a variable load to the cables and adjusted the load to 100 amps, the voltage at the end of the cable was 25.05v. I reattached the cables the to the Growatt and attached a logging voltmeter, I then had my wife disconnect the commercial power and the solar. The unit failed but the voltage on the internal buss bars never dropped below 26.35v. This unit is clearly having issue. The error code is always 56. The unit cannot see my batteries.

I have called my vendor several times but they keep referring me to a different tech that is too busy to take my call. I have an open trouble ticket with them but the tech hasn't called me back. It's been 4 days now.

Am I missing something?

Should I call Growatt directly ?

I really enjoyed doing business with this vendor but I'm quickly loosing faith in them.
 

syclonedriver

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
May 16, 2021
Messages
75
I called tech support again today to make sure they hadn't lost my trouble ticket, it's still in the system. Not long after calling them I got a return call. Two of their techs ask me a few questions and then told me that they had to refer my ticket to another tech, I think the owner. I got the distinct feeling that I know a lot more about the Growatt and power systems in general than they do.

This is getting old, my system has been down for a week now.

I'm open to all suggestion.
 

syclonedriver

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
May 16, 2021
Messages
75
Thanks professor, I did RTFM.

I have reached out to another vendor. I may just purchase a replacement unit.
 

syclonedriver

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
May 16, 2021
Messages
75
I've about had it with this thing. Might be time to call my credit card company and file a complaint, might get my money back that way.
 

syclonedriver

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
May 16, 2021
Messages
75
i would buy another one then fix that one as a spare, if you can actually get parts for it.

Did a quick search and didn't find parts online, if you can get parts let us know, I will believe it when i see it.
I was actually considering purchasing an entire unit. I had originally planned to add a second unit anyway, I'm having second thoughts now.

My brother bought 2 of the 48v units but hasn't installed them yet, maybe he shouldn't.
 

syclonedriver

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
May 16, 2021
Messages
75
I looked up Growatts customer service number and called it. They have a recording that simply refers you back to your vendor. If my vendor doesn't call me back by Tuesday afternoon with a reasonable solution I'll have to take other action.
 
Last edited:

syclonedriver

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
May 16, 2021
Messages
75
New development. Now my Growatt wont't charge my batteries but it will slowly drain them and last night it completely shutoff, killing the commercial AC to my fridges, freezer and AHU. It wouldn't power backup but would make sizzling noises but no smoke or smell. I have completely disconnected the AC power from it, opened the DC breaker and disconnected the solar. I don't think it safe. Still waiting on SS tech support!
 

syclonedriver

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
May 16, 2021
Messages
75
Yes, the updates were in another thread that was deleted.

SS finally agreed to send me return label but after another week I still didn't have it. I called them again, this time I just couldn't stay calm. They promptly emailed me a return label and I returned the unit the same day. They repaired my unit and returned it about a week or so later. It works fine now.

SS apologized in another thread and sent me $150 for my trouble. When I tried to reply and thank them I found that the thread had been deleted. I was not the only person having problems in that thread nor was I the OP. I'm not happy it was deleted but it's not my forum.

I was happy enough with SS that I bought a second unit. It's not running yet though.
 

MKH_Adventures

New Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2021
Messages
5
Yes, the updates were in another thread that was deleted.

SS finally agreed to send me return label but after another week I still didn't have it. I called them again, this time I just couldn't stay calm. They promptly emailed me a return label and I returned the unit the same day. They repaired my unit and returned it about a week or so later. It works fine now.

SS apologized in another thread and sent me $150 for my trouble. When I tried to reply and thank them I found that the thread had been deleted. I was not the only person having problems in that thread nor was I the OP. I'm not happy it was deleted but it's not my forum.

I was happy enough with SS that I bought a second unit. It's not running yet though.
SS?
 

Joe BoyKey

Watts, Watts, more Watts
Joined
Sep 11, 2020
Messages
466
Location
Austin Texas
SS=Signature Solar, what are your setting on your Growatt, use, not LI or what? here are mine, do you have a pic of settings? Joe.
1634476629512.png
 

syclonedriver

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
May 16, 2021
Messages
75
SS=Signature Solar, what are your setting on your Growatt, use, not LI or what? here are mine, do you have a pic of settings? Joe

SS=Signature Solar, what are your setting on your Growatt, use, not LI or what? here are mine, do you have a pic of settings? Joe.
View attachment 69167
My batteries are AGM, used batteries I get from work.
I don't have a picture of my settings but I have most of them memorized. What are you interested in?
 

syclonedriver

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
May 16, 2021
Messages
75
I'm currently using the default AGM settings. I have the AC charger limited to 2 amps so it doesn't actually charge the batteries overnight.

I have the inverter set to come online at 27 volts and returned to commercial power at 24.8 volts. I don't want to discharge my old batteries very deeply. In the event of a power outage it will discharge to a much lower voltage.
 

Joe BoyKey

Watts, Watts, more Watts
Joined
Sep 11, 2020
Messages
466
Location
Austin Texas
Comes to mind to try:
1 lower back to grid to 22 - just to see if surge of appliances are making Growatt see "no battery" then switch it back of course.
2. go here and make sure you the latest manual and Firmware for your model, there is a video on how to upgrade FW on Growatt here too.
It shows spf3000tl and 3kLV under 24 and 48P firmware, still not sure which model you have, you download zip and run ISP software.
https://watts247.com/manuals/gw/
3. victor.zhang@growatt.com - The man
 
Last edited:

syclonedriver

Solar Enthusiast
Joined
May 16, 2021
Messages
75
Here is a picture of my GW ID sticker.

There may be a little confusion here. I'm happy with my GW now that the main board has been replaced, I even purchased a second unit. I am in the process of installing the second unit.
 

Attachments

  • 20211017_101030.jpg
    20211017_101030.jpg
    809.9 KB · Views: 10
Top