diy solar

diy solar

Growatt SPF5000ES charging peculiarities?

rrroonn

Living Ron
Hi,

I am hoping someone has experience with this issue as I am new to Growatt.

SETUP

I have set up pre-prod system to augment my existing solar setup (Victron MP2 + Pylontech ESS + 6.5kW panels).
I have 12kW of 16s (51.6V) batteries attached to Growatt SPF5000ES with no grid input and no battery-inverter comms.

I have setup the following settings:
01: SBU (solar & battery priority)
02: 80a
03: APL
05: US2 (User settings 2)
12: 48v (back to grid)
13: 51v (back to battery)
14: 050 (solar only charge)
19: 55.6v (CV charge voltage) -- setting this higher did not help
20: 54.4v (float voltage)
21: 46v (low voltage cut off)

Firmare is 040-05-70 (CPU1) 041-05-701 (SPU2)

The aim is to be gridless and use solar to charge batteries and supply loads.

THE PROBLEM
There are circumstances that I do not understand where the batteries refuse to charge off the solar panels. I have read a lot of posts that relate to this but none lead me to an answer, so I hope that someone reads this and goes "aha ..."

I have drawn down the batteries using a clothes dryer drawing 1.8kW for about an hour ...

20221026_102518.jpg

The panels have Voc of about 160v and MPP of about 120v and we can see that they are helping to supply the load. I had the load running for an hour or so and then removed the load.

20221026_102429_r.jpg
No matter how long I stared at the screen, the solar charger refused to now recharge the batteries. Yes, I see that the CHG LED is on but the panels remain at Voc.

Just to ensure that the start voltage of 150v+/-10 was not the problem, I added another panel...

20221026_102940_r.jpg

Again, the batteries refused to recharge.

In much of my testing, the solar WAS charging the batteries, but now it isn't.

I tried switching to from US2 -> USE but this did not help. I turned the batteries off and then back on and charging started. Power cycling the inverter also restarts charging.