diy solar

diy solar

Have questions about charge controller sizing. Wondering if my solar panel array is going to be too much for my charge controller

devinbus

Hi everyone I am new to the forum and I am doing a 25 foot skoolie build. Trying to make it COMPLETELY OFF GRID. Anyways I have 910 watts of solar panels(12 volt system) and a 60 amp epever tracer mppt charge controller. So I did the math and whatnot and I am afraid my panel array may be too many amps for my charge controller. So I came up with 75-80 amp charge controller will be needed for 910 watts of solar in series. But with the panels having a maximum efficiency of maybe 25 percent my panels shouldn't ever really exceed 20-25 amps I think ?. I am new to solar so I am figuring things out. What I am asking if I would be able to use 910 watt solar in series(inline?) with with the 60 amp charge controller or if I am going to have to upgrade to a minimum 75-80 amp charge controller. If anyone can help I would appreciate it. Thanks

There will likely be times when your 910 Watt panels deliver full power, but that should be ok. I'm guessing what you've calculated is 910W / 12V = 75.8A, right? And that exceeds you SCC's rating of 60A. But that won't cause damage to the SCC, it'll just mean you lose some power that would otherwise go into the battery. The SCC is limited to 60A output, and any excess power available gets 'clipped', or essentially wasted. For the most part, that's ok as long as your SCC supports it, and it looks like all the Tracer 60A controllers have a max PV power rating of 1125W for 12V systems, so you should be fine there. Having more PV power available than the SCC can fully use is called overpaneling, and there's a good resource on the forum here: https://diysolarforum.com/resources/overview-of-over-paneling-an-mppt-controller.229/