diy solar

diy solar

Hello from Las Vegas, NV

JGM197

Hi, My name is Greg and just ran across this forum after seeing Will's review of a Jackery 1500.
I'm actually building a similar box from scratch because I feel like I can get better components for less money by building the box myself.
But I am new to the LiFiPo world and have a few questions.
First, my old system was a very old Goal Zero Yeti 400 that was one of their original boxes that used AGM batteries. I also have a GZ Boulder 100 solar panel.
Over the years I've replaced the AGM a few times and now I'm ready to build my own box.
I've purchased a Rynogy 100amp 12v battery because I'm not comfortable building the battery and BMS components from ground level.
So here is my questions.
1. Can the LiFiPo batteries be laid down on their side with the terminals on the side or should I keep the battery upright? That will be helpful in the box purchase.
2. I plan on converting the connector on my Boulder 100 from the GZ 8mm plug to a more industry-standard MC4 connector but I haven't decided yet on which charge controller I'm going to use. This is not a huge off-grid system, just my 100amp 12v battery and a single 100w solar panel. Which Solar Charge Controller would go well with this combo?
3. I've picked out the Victron Energy Blue Smart IP65 12-Volt 15 amp Battery Charger as my charger and since I'm new to the LiFiPo world, should I keep the charger plugged in to the unit all the time when it's not in use?

Thanks again for the help, I hope this is the right place for these questions.

Greg ~

Last edited:
But I am new to the LiFoPo world and have a few questions.

"LiFoPo" is new to me. A common abbreviation is LFP.

1. Can the LFP batteries be laid down on their side with the terminals on the side or should I keep the battery upright? That will be helpful in the box purchase.

It depends on the battery/cell manufacturer. They should indicate permitted orientation(s).