diy solar

diy solar

Hello from Socal Riverside area.

Beersman777

Hello I am desperate for advice!. I have been working on an offgrid solar set up for my 2018 Tacoma. I have a LifePO4 100ah battery, mppt charge controller, 1000w inverter and two 100 w solar panels. I have a renegy DC/DC charger coming soon and a battery monitor. I have already set up the panels on a roof top tent but I am having the hardest time finding helpful videos about how to set up the DC/DC charger, battery monitor and solar. Now after describing all of this just today I found that my battery was nearly empty and will not hold a charge for long. I had installed a key type kill switch to the battery box and left the battery off for almost one month. The charge controller was not pulling power due to the cut off, but now it seems like the cut off never actually cut anything off. This was a brand new battery and I fear that it is already ruined. I have reached out to expertpower regarding this issue and have not heard back yet. I am hoping to meet some experts here to help me with this issue. The diagram posted gives you an idea of how the concept/set up looks.Thank you for all of your help. If there is anyone is Socal Riverside area who could help me directly or who could help point me in the right direction for guidance regarding the battery issue and how to finalize the set up appropriately I would really appreciate it.
Ryan

Attachments

• batteryempty.jpg
    batteryempty.jpg
    90.6 KB · Views: 14
  • batterytypeLifepo4.jpg
    batterytypeLifepo4.jpg
    75.7 KB · Views: 14
  • trucksolar.jpg
    trucksolar.jpg
    117.4 KB · Views: 15
Do you have any way to see if the battery is discharging when you think it should have no load? Like an ammeter or the monitor?

Can you pull the battery, charge it and see if it holds it's voltage?