diy solar

diy solar

Hello from Sunny Tucson, Arizona!

mstjmc

I finally decided I needed some help building a solar system for my converted van as I have zero electrical experience and am on a fixed income. I do have plenty of sunshine I can harvest for power. Currently I am building a mini evap cooler so I can sleep in my van and get out of the old house I have been living in. I want to hit the road, become a nomad and explore this beautiful country. I don't need a large system as I don't think I'll be using any large appliances. Perhaps something small and secure. I appreciate this forum and all who congregate here. I am especially thankful to Will Prowse for showing me the way to energy independence. <3

Welcome to the forum. People have been helpful to me on some choices, and there doesn’t seem to be much that someone here hasn’t already tried! Will’s videos are a great source for doing exactly what you’re looking to do, and he has several beginner-level, easy to build systems on his YouTube channel, the Mobile Solar web site, and in his book.

Good luck!

Thank you RickP! I just received Will's book from Amazon. I have also watched many of his vids. I'm so happy to have experienced guides when trying to choose which components to purchase. Like the MPPT controller, I almost bought the 20amp but wanted to upgrade to the 40amp just in case I decide to go with a larger array in the future. I certainly do not want to end up wasting money on items I can't use or become obsolete. Being that money is tight for me right now I am trying to build a system I can expand on as I get the funds. Recently someone told me to start with a battery. Problem is I can't really afford the Battleborn right now. Champagne taste on a beer budget! Where to start?

Welcome mstkmc ? great place with loads of great advise.
I’m about 35 miles east of you toward the south valley of the Little Rincons.