diy solar

diy solar

Hello, newbie from Kentucky

Subdood

Photon Wrangler
Hey all, solar newbie here from Kentucky. I have 30 years experience in electronics, mostly power supplies, and server rack systems. Anyway, a few months ago we purchased a solar generator (Ecoflow River Pro), mostly to help out when we have frequent power outages during spring and summer storms. It's not a big genny, only 720wh, but would be sufficient to power some low power devices like our modem, small TV, CPAP, some lights, etc. It can be charged via AC, or solar, at 200W and 12V input. So, I purchased a 200W Newpowa panel to use to recharge it.

Well, now I've got the solar bug and have dived into solar technology articles and videos. I've particularly have watched quite a few of Will Prowse's vids, and find them very helpful. It's only been a month or two, but I've learned a lot already. I am seriously considering a more powerful system for our small home to be less reliant on the grid and reduce our power bills. For now, I'd like to set up a system to power our 120V devices in our home, and leave the 240V stuff on grid power. Maybe later, we could move some of the 240V stuff onto the system.

For the last month, I have sketched out various configurations, and have come up with this setup-

MPP (or Sungoldpower) 6548 inverter,
Signature Solar 5.12kwh 48V battery rack,
8 x 460W Bluesun bifacial panels, or
9 x 390W Canadian Solar bifacial panels

Of course this will probably change or be added to. I'd like to max out the inverter's dual 4kw PV inputs, so as to get about 8kw total. Also would like to maybe add another 5.12kwh battery. But, for now, this is a good start.

Still working on the array setup, I'd like it to be a single axis mount, maybe have two of them, one oriented SE, the other S. We are on a slightly south of east facing hillside, so we get good sun exposure most of the day.

Anyway, look forward to learning more about this very interesting subject.