diy solar

diy solar

Hello, newbie here and as usual looking for advice.

Blue-q8

Hello, I just joined and looking for advice on building my first DIY solar energy powered lights for the lawn outside, i hope someone can direct me in the right direction (or thread), this is what i have in plan:

35amp VRLA battery or similar AGM.
100 watt solar panel.
Victron Energy BlueSolar MPPT 100V 15 amp 12/24-Volt Solar Charge Controller.
LED lights and Auto On Off Photocell Light Switch.

But since I'm new to this, I have no idea if my setup is right, and if my system is correct, and please keep in mind I'd like to use Victron Energy controller since I've their products on my car.

How much total power do the lights consume?
how long do you want to run them per day?
Hi, I'm planning to use old KC Lights Cyclone V2 that I removed from previous vehicle and didn't use since then, this is the specs:

Amp Draw: 0.42 a
Light Temperature: 5000K
Lumens: 600lm
Wattage: 5W
Voltage: 9V-16V

I'll use 6 lights, their power consumption is very low when i had them on my previous overlander, so now I'll use them to illuminate my lawn.

They might be on for 6 hours in summer and 9 hours in winter.

5W * 6 * 9h = 270Wh

270Wh /12V = 22.5Ah

Your battery has only 17.5Ah of usable capacity, so it's insufficient for the 9h requirement.

If the 100W panel is mounted flat, it will fall far short in winter. You're lucky to get 40% of rated power on a flat mounted panel in Winter.

5W * 6 * 9h = 270Wh

270Wh /12V = 22.5Ah

Your battery has only 17.5Ah of usable capacity, so it's insufficient for the 9h requirement.

If the 100W panel is mounted flat, it will fall far short in winter. You're lucky to get 40% of rated power on a flat mounted panel in Winter.
Oh, what's your recommendation for the setup please? I would really appreciate the help, and what size solar panel i can use with Victron Energy BlueSolar MPPT 100V 15 amp 12/24-Volt Solar Charge Controller?