diy solar

diy solar

Hello, newbie here! Need some guidance.

useless

Hey All,
I have just returned from my first road trip in and around Western Australia. And I am super excited about everything that I have learned about staying off the grid. Power backup is my biggest pain point. I want to buy Ecoflow River 2 but it's not yet available in Australia. So I thought why not do it myself until it's available? And I am massively impressed by the kind of DIY stuff that you all do. I can't stop myself from watching all these DIY videos on youtube. Decided to take baby steps.

Phase 1:

Get battery, inverter, and battery charger -- may be a shunt to monitor. I want to keep it compact and easy to carry as well. So thinking of something small as a 30AH Eco-worthy battery. It's small. And add connect an inverter to it. Suggest a good quality compact inverter with around 300-1000W. Right now my only need is to power MacBook pro and mobiles. Got questions about this.
- Is it safe to do so?
- What's the best way to carry them around? I could 3D print a box or buy a ready-made security box. Should I screw all components or is it okay if they are loose while traveling and when not in use?

Phase 2: Add solar charging functionality to it.

Thanks

Last edited:
If you're just charging a laptop and some USB things, then a 1000w inverter is overkill. Look at the power brick on the laptop and double the watts, that should be plenty of power for your list.

30ah isn't much battery, how are you planning to charge it?

A cheap plastic tool box that fits everything would be the easiest option, and it's really easy to customize for USB ports or 12v sockets or the like. Later you could mount a basic PWM controller inside to add solar charging down the road. For as cheap as they are you might as well do it all at once.

Make sure everything is tight. Lock washers or Nylock nuts are the best option, thread locker is handy too.