diy solar

diy solar

Help choosing inverter? Are there any that talk to the BMS?

TheVoid

I am trying to plan out my battery backed solar system. I currently have an on grid house that I have been transitioning all large loads to be smaller draws (inverter ac, hybrid water heat etc) in the hopes of eliminating large starting currents. I have been researching solar power systems for several years, so I have a pretty good idea of what is needed in terms of panels, but batteries have been changing so fast that all the old inverter options seem like they are no longer viable.

I live in sunny, muggy, hurricane land. My plan for a while was to use SMA equipment with 2 sunny islands in split phase and sunny boys for the panels, and a stack of 6 5kwh batteries. However, it seems that SMA wont talk to the BMS in most batteries? I was also looking at the schneider xw inverter, but their after sales/engineering support was spotty at best several years ago and appears to have not improved.

So my quest is to find an inverter solution that can handle 10-12 kw of panels and overload capacity while talking to the bms so the batteries will not hit cutoffs etc. and can also trigger a generator to start if the grid is down and batteries are low. If schneider actually had a clue and did firmware updates, the xw would be an ideal solution, as it has extensive gen support functions and even has a dedicated ac2 input for a genset.

So what say you, fellow Will Prowse viewers? Anyone have experience with Outback inverters and rack batteries? Is there any new brand inverters that are even aware of gen input?
Thanks in advance

I was also looking at the schneider xw inverter, but their after sales/engineering support was spotty at best several years ago and appears to have not improved.
If schneider actually had a clue and did firmware updates, the xw would be an ideal solution, as it has extensive gen support functions and even has a dedicated ac2 input for a genset.