diy solar

diy solar

Help converting an existing grid tie system to battery TOU shaving

goldserve

Solar Enthusiast
I have an existing solar setup that was commissioned in 2014 that uses 16 REC-260-PE, 2 x 8 in a string on a SMA Sunnyboy 3800-TL-US. Seeing how my local utility PGE decided to sunset my plan and introduce TOU hours that are not friendly for solar generation, would it make sense to convert the solar inverter with 48V battery support to use excess solar to charge battery and supply power to the house during peak hours? I have the following questions as I am a newbie around here.

1) What is the current topology of the SMA inverter? I know it is 240V but does it do split phase?
2) What cost effective solar charger, inverter, battery charger should I replace the sunny boy with if I plan on getting 1 or 2 SOK/EG4 battery system to run in parallel?
3) Which above inverter would allow TOU setting, preference to charge battery with excess solar, output power from solar (if battery fully) and battery combined to reduce peak usage from grid, charge battery to xx% during off-peak? I think Sol-Ark does this but the 5K one costs so much!
4) Any other models have a feature similar to the SMA SMPS (secure power outlet in the event of outage)
5) Allow for off-grid operation if I plan to split some essential loads in a sub panel to use the battery in the event of outage?

Thanks so much for teaching a newbie here!

Is the sol-ark the only product that checks all the boxes above? It’s a really expensive hybrid inverter!