diy solar

diy solar

Help on finding the right size ground bar?

JonL

I just realized that I hadn’t paid enough attention to the grounding of all my solar gear. My bus bars are rated at 500 A and I will be pushing around 350 A through my whole system.
So what size ground bar or type do I need for all my gounding connections? I need at least 12 grounding connections. Thanks

With respect to grounding, there should be no current flowing through it unless you develop a short somewhere. Whatever size you use for your return (white wire) common bar is good enough for the grounding wires. But I'm no licensed Electrician and one of those guys may tell you differently.

But in my house sub-panel circuit breakers. The ground bar is the same size and the common return bar for the white wire.

I guess what I’m worried about, is whether my cheap $10 bar that has holes in it that you just screw in the wires, can handle a huge charge short through the system. it seems like I should have something better!

It's supposed to have holes. Take a moment and look inside your circuit breaker sub-panel on your house. You will sever several bars. One bar for the white wires on the left side of the panel and one bar for the white wires on the right side of the panel. You should see a third bar for the bare and or green (sometimes gray) wires. Notice that the all are long and full of holes with screws that hold the wires in place.

However, your average house has a main breaker for 100 Amps. I can't imagine having 500 amps running through your house. Plus I have never seen a common bar at the hardware stores bigger than what you see in your house sub-panel.

It will be interesting to hear what others in the group that are experienced with this solar stuff to chime in.

1603062649080.png Notice the white looking common bars two are for the white return to source wires and the two on the sides are the grounding bars

Last edited: