diy solar

diy solar

Help please. Are these panels compatible for my 24 volt system?

dsj

Please excuse my ignorance as im new to this... I want build a 24 volt solar system for my school bus conversion.

I bought 4 SunPower panels on market place for cheap. They are new too! Totalling 1340 watts. Did I make a booboo in buying these? Here are the specs.
20210423_094220.jpg

And also bought 8 batteries ( lithium - 3.2 volts 280 ah ) on aliexpress wired in series to make 24 volt.

Looking for advice to proceed in the purchase of the rest of the components,
Mppt charge controller 80 amp ??

Thanks in advance.

I

For a 24V system, using an MPPT charge controller, those four panels setup in 4S would be about 230V at 62A at cold temps. In a 2S2P setup they would be about 115V at 62A. And setup as 4P they would be about 57V at 62A.

Seems like a 2S2P setup with a 150/60 or 150/70 MPPT SCC would be a good setup with those panels.

those four panels setup in 4S would be about 230V at 62A at cold temps.
No!
Wired in series, the panels would produce the panels' Imp which is 7.91a

An MPPT SCC could produce 1340w / (12.8v x 2) = 52a charging current

Perhaps instead of putting 4 panels in series because the Voc is so high would be to
run 2S2P for your panels (2 panels in series then those strings in parallel). This would give
you just over 100v Voc and really good for a 150v SCC.

An MPPT like this would be really nice (its not cheap but an SCC is the heart and brains so the place to invest $$):

https://www.amazon.com/Victron-SmartSolar-Charge-Controller-150V/dp/B07B4KF7LY/

Sorry if I wasn't clear but I was referring to the output from the charge controller. The numbers I posted are from using Victron's MPPT calculator spreadsheet at -25ºC.

Sorry if I wasn't clear but I was referring to the output from the charge controller. The numbers I posted are from using Victron's MPPT calculator spreadsheet at -25ºC.