diy solar

diy solar

HELP!!! Transfer Pump Watering Garden

Jonessmj

I’m running into issues with a setup I’ve put together nd can’t figure out if I’ve sized things correctly or not.

My Setup:
1. Rain barrel connected to a 12V DC Transfer Pump https://www.harborfreight.com/12v-dc-transfer-pump-290-gph-63324.html

2. Transfer Pump running off 12V deep cycle 18ah battery. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00K8E4WAW/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awdb_t1_qFc0Eb725A644

3. Battery being charged by 20W solar Panel and charge controller https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0836CM9FJ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awdb_t1_ZDc0EbY3CZKE6

This is my first solar project and I’m not an electrician.

I tried hooking everything up to the charge controller but the pump would not run. So, I hooked the pump directly to the battery while leaving everything else hooked up to the charge controller. The pump worked, but for less than 10 mins at which point the battery couldn’t run it any longer. I’ve checked the battery voltage for the last 3 days and it’s gone from about 11.7V to 11.82V in 3 sunny days. I checked the voltage coming off the solar panel before it gets to the charge controller and it has been 20-21.xxV around 3pm est. I didn’t check the voltage from the charge controller to the battery, but can - what should I expect?
Given all of this info and the equipment I linked to, am I doing something wrong? I want to run the pump for 20-30 mins 3-4 times per week. Is that possible with this setup? If not, any suggestions? I’m at a loss at this point.

It looks like your solar panel + charger simply are not up to the task. Your battery is constantly undercharged from the voltages you have posted.