diy solar

diy solar

Help troubleshoot battery overvoltage Renogy SCC

metalheaddoc

I just put together a renogy 400W premium kit that has a Rover 40a MPPT controller. It is hooked up to a Wiese 12v 100ah LiFePO4 battery. Within 30 seconds of hooking up the panels, I get a battery overvoltage error and the voltage reading on the SCC goes up to 17-18V. I confirmed that voltage at the battery terminals. The SCC is set for 12v and Li battery type. I have the panels in a 2s2p setup, but the error also happens with a single panel. I checked the stats on the 2s2p and I get 44V and about 8-9a before the shutdown occurs. I have put in a support ticket with Renogy, but I wanted to know if you guys had any ideas. This is my first build.

Jason

A LFP battery BMS engaging over-voltage protection cuts off the charge. Imaging if you're climbing a steep hill in a car, and and axle breaks. Before you can react, the engine will rev very high. The SCC is unable to react quickly enough to prevent over-voltage due to sudden removal of load.

Recommend you try lower boost voltages starting at 13.8V and incrementing by 0.1V until you can replicate the problem. If the MPPT functions at lower boost voltages but not higher ones, that's indicating an issue with imbalance within the battery, not an issue with the MPPT.

^^^that’s pretty smart testing right there.

The other thing that can do that symptom is a poor connection. I’ve seen it a few times from boat alternators to Jeeps with winches, to my solar system (with failing MC4s).
With my solar I would have basically no production for long periods and then a huge spike and the SCC would fault.

So if it ain’t electronics related I’d look at the connectors and terminals, etc.

^^^that’s pretty smart testing right there.

The other thing that can do that symptom is a poor connection. I’ve seen it a few times from boat alternators to Jeeps with winches, to my solar system (with failing MC4s).