diy solar

diy solar

Help with 24V system wire size

Taytus

Hello everyone, I'm brand new to all this so excuse my silly questions :)

I will have a 3000W 24V Inverter so that means I will have to wire my small cabin with a wire that supports125 AMP?

Am I doing this calculation correctly?

What cable size that would be? What is your recommendation?

Thank you so so much for all your help.

3000W / 24V is 125A. But many people throw in an inefficiency factor and divide that by 0.85 which suggests you should wire for 150A. Using the Blue Sea Systems wire size chart (which assumes you are using high quality stranded copper wire with 105ºC insulation) you would want to use 1AWG. This also assumes the round trip wire length to/from your inverter is under 15 feet. And you will want a fuse sized from 175A-200A.

For the ac side the wire and breaker is based on the load.
If this is an RV the master breaker is typically 30 amps which means 10 awg triplex wire.

For the dc side...
3000 ac watts / .85 conversion factor / 24 volts low cutoff = 147.058823529 service amps
147.058823529 service amps / .8 fuse headroom = 183.823529412 fault amps.

That means minimum 2 awg pure copper wire with insulation rated for 105C and a 200 amp fuse.

Thank you so much @rmaddy and @smoothJoey. My question wasn't clear enough (I was asking for the AC side), but you guys have been incredibly helpful and answered what I needed to know.

Much appreciated.

Thank you so much @rmaddy and @smoothJoey. My question wasn't clear enough (I was asking for the AC side), but you guys have been incredibly helpful and answered what I needed to know.

Much appreciated.
So it is an RV?

UPDATE: I see that it is a cabin.

q: Will you be doing proper stuctured wiring with an ac distribution panel?

@smoothJoey I don't know yet. I might. I'm still learning but I would like to have the cabin all wired up but I don't have large loads (yet)

Should I? When is a distribution panel required or recommended?